Mnemonic Device

Mnemonic Device
Great for designing company logo’s, or coming up with a brand identity to make it memorable but in a way that is out of the ordinary, exaggerated.  In creating my e-lesson, I sometime look for a visual identity to a module or a topic I teach, this Mnemonic Device method has inspired me to look at designing a signature image for e-lessons rather than using stock photo – be more creative!  Things I will keep in mind when designing:

  • First Letter – Create Catchy Phrases or Acronyms to assist in remembering important words i.e. to remember the arithmetic order of operations: Parenthesis, Exponents, Multiplication, Division, Addition, Subtraction can be remember by this catchy phrase “Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally”
  • Key Word- for example the AFLAC Commercial that uses the word and makes it sound like a duck (Duck in the advertising is the bridging image)
  • Rhyme – Use rhymes to remember i.e. I will never forget my elementary school grammar teacher taught me “I before e, except after c”  I still use it to remember.  Or that clever song to remember the provinces of Canada are “fun to remember” LOL
  • Feature Name –A word that is related to the image/ object i.e. Volkswagon Beetle names after a Beetle again serving as a bridging image when you take its biological name sake and combine it with the care itself.

Leave a Reply

